Countdown to Ryder Cup 2014 at Gleneagles, Scotland

The Ryder Cup 2014 is approaching and we can’t wait! In this article you’ll find information about the 2014 Ryder Cup, including dates, location, captains, VIDEOS, and much more. Enjoy!

Ryder Cup 2014 at Gleneagles PGA Centenary Course



26 – 28 September 2014



European Team Captain: Paul McGinley

US Team Captain: Tom Watson


The Ryder Cup has undergone many changes in the format of play.  Originally it was a two-day competition, with four 36-hole foursomes matches on the opening day followed by eight 36-hole singles matches the final day, with a maximum point total of 12.  It is now a three-day event that includes eight foursome matches (two versus two contest in which teammates alternate shots on their ball in efforts to complete the hole with the fewest shots), eight fourball matches (two versus two match but each golfer plays their own ball with the hole won by the team whose individual golfer has the lowest score), and 12 singles matches (one versus one contest, standard match play) – all of which are played over 18 holes. One point is awarded to the winner of each match and half a point to each side for a tie.

Between Friday and Sunday, 28 total matches are played, with four fourball and four foursomes played Friday and Saturday, with the home team’s captain deciding whether which format will be played in the morning and which in the afternoon.  The entire team plays Sunday, in 12 singles matches, but the captain selects only eight players for each of the sessions on Friday and Saturday.  In the event of a tie (14 to 14), the reigning champion will retain the Ryder Cup as a tie does not qualify as a loss.


The Ryder Cup is a men’s golf tournament played between Europe and the United States every two years.  The venue for the competition, which is administered by both the PGA of America and the PGA European Tour, alternates equally between Europe and the U.S locations.  The Ryder Cup is named after the Englishman Samual Ryder, who donated the prized trophy.

The first official Ryder Cup took place in 1927 at Worcester Country Club in Massachusetts.  In 1973 the official title of the British Team was changed from “Great Britian” to “Great Britian and Ireland, but is now referred to as Europe.  Although the Ryder Cup is a very high profile event within the world of professional sports, the players receive no prize money for winning – strictly a gentleman’s game for pride in nationality.

The most recent Ryder Cup was held September 28-30, 2012 at the Medinah Country Club in Illinois.  Europe who began the final day of play four points behind, managed to come back and win 14 ½ to 13 ½ over the U.S.  Carrying this momentum forward and home, Europe will host the 2014 Ryder Cup at Gleneagles, Scotland.

Have a look back at the 2012 Ryder Cup in the VIDEO below;

Click to Play Gleneagles Now!

Official Ryder Cup Website

Ryder Cup Team USA

Ryder Cup Team Europe

Ryder Cup 2014 Website

PerryGolf on The Ryder Cup

Gleneagles on Ryder Cup 2014

Year to Go 2014 Ryder Cup in Scotland

All About The Ryder Cup, From 1927 to 2014

Ryder Cup Impact for Golf Tourism in Scotland

Ryder Cup Tartan Unveiled at Lochcarron in Selkirk

PGA Centenary Course Guide


About the Author: Harrison Gould is the Social Media Marketing Manager of PerryGolf, a leading provider of international golf vacations. You can find him on Google+, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram , and Pinterest.


Visit Scotland Brilliant Moments