2018 Ryder Cup

Six European nations have announced their intention to bid to host the 2018 Ryder Cup; the deadline for which is April 30th, 2010. 

With Spain, Portugal, Germany, Sweden, France and Holland keen to stage the event, it’s going to be a Ryder Cup played at a mainland European venue for only the second time – with Valderrama in 1997 being the only other exception. 

Seve Ballesteros, who captained the winning European team at Valderrama in ‘97, was yesterday given a standing ovation as he was unveiled as the patron of Madrid’s bid for 2018.  It’ll be interesting to see if any of the other nations can top this…and even more interesting to see which country comes top of the pile when the host venue is eventually announced in early 2011.

Click here to read more.

By Keith Baird.  Keith has been with PerryGolf for over 10 years and is one of our Golf Travel Specialists.